Monday, June 17, 2013

N Is For Nine

I'm taking you on a journey from A to Z through the land of dairy! 
There's no need to pack your bags, just come along! 
  N Is For Nine
 Milk has nine essential* nutrients.
White or flavored- all milk contains all nine essential nutrients! 

What do they do?
  • Calcium- Helps build and maintain strong bones and teeth. Reduces the  risk of osteoporosis.
  • Vitamin D- Helps absorb calcium for healthy bones.
  • Phosphorus- Helps strengthen bones and generate energy in the body's cells.
  • Riboflavin- Helps convert food into energy.
  • Protein- Helps build and repair muscle tissue.
  • Vitamin B-12- Helps maintain healthy red blood cells and nerve cells.
  • Potassium- Helps regulate the balance of fluids and plays a role in maintaining a normal blood pressure.
  • Vitamin A- Helps maintain normal vision and healthy skin.
  • Niacin- Helps bodies digest carbohydrates and fatty acids.
So whether you are big or little, young or old, drink up! They're called essential for a reason!

 * Essential nutrients- nutrients necessary for normal body functions, but they cannot be produced by your body.
 Learn more about dairy at Dairy Makes Sense
I am making a commitment to share as much as I can with you each day this month, about the life of our dairy farm family including what we do, how we share our passion for dairy, and dairy foods we enjoy.

 See you here tomorrow...O is for Outing.

No comments:

Post a Comment